September 25th, 2015

pigtails

Meme thing

How this works:
You comment, I give you an age (please tell me how old you currently are - I don't know all of your ages unfortunately) and you fill out the meme questions with what applied to you back then, and now:

I have 26.

At 26...

I lived in:
Dargaville, at the end of a dead end road just out of town, on a 50 acre kumara farm. The YoT said his first words in that house, on my 26th birthday. We had junked out cars on the front lawn and I gave up trying to battle the kikuyu to make the garden pretty, or the junk to make the house tidy. It was a pig sty and I hated it. Luckily I left shortly after.

I drove:
A 1973 XB Fairmont with a 351 V8 in it. It cost about $10 to start it up, and when I tried to see how fast it could go on the Ruawai straights one day, I chickened out at 126mph. My husband pranged it into a ditch while drunk and dinged it up quite badkly, and after that I wasn't so keen on it. When I left him I swapped it for two cows.

I was in a relationship with:
My ex husband.

I feared:
Going to bed.

I worked at:
I was stay at home Mum, which basically meant I did a lot of cooking and cleaning and also I was responsible for waking up said husband each morning which was no mean feat.

I wanted to be:
Anywhere except where I was.

- - -

NOW! (45years old)

I live in:
Wellington, in an art deco rental that has lovely views and is stunning in summer and like living in a refrigerator in winter. My vegie garden feeds me horse food daily and we have flowers. I made a rule that I would never tolerate junked out cars on the lawn again and I've stuck to it. The YoT is 20 and has moved out Wow.

I drive:
I recently pranged my Galant, and it was replaced by the people we car share with, with a Honda Jazz (affectionately known as The Granny Car). Dr Wheel and I are about to buy a ute, because we're hardcore like that, and also because we don't want to get caught out unable to pull our trailer up the hill out of Kiwiburn again.

I'm in a relationship with:
Dr Wheel. He is the awesomest of the awesomes. 7 years this December.

I fear:
Complacency.

I work at:
Writing qualifications for builders, drug reform, organising a festival, acro, pole, and being a better person.

I want to be:
Independently wealthy so I can live in the country and grow fruit and vegies and flowers and breed The Better Sheep.